21.1 C
Saturday, January 29, 2022

St. Francis’ Joshua Alvarez, Santa Cruz’s Qwentin Brown awarded National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame scholarships

[adace-ad id="2627"]

Francis High Line Joshua Alvarez and Santa Cruz retracting Quantin Brown have been selected as the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame scholarship winners for their contributions to the classroom, community and on the football field this season.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the annual NFF and College HOF Awards Banquet will not be held in San Francisco for the second year in a row.

Alvarez and Brown will each receive $1,000 from the NFF & College HOF.

[adace-ad id="2627"]

The head coach of each district high school program was allowed to nominate a linebacker and one lineman for the scholarship. All 18 selected research athletes will receive a $200 scholarship from the Santa Cruz Host Lions Club.

Alvarez was a Pacific Coast League first-team pick on both sides of the ball in the Santa Lucia Division. He helped the Sharks (9-4, 4-0) win the class and record a historic career in the Division 5 playoffs in the Central Coast Division. The No. 7 ranked Sharks won their first two post-season games in school history, defeating No. 2 Cupertino and 6 Los Altos, before landing against No. 1 ranked Aragon in the tournament.

“He’s a diligent, committed and dedicated worker, both on the field and in the classroom and that shows,” said Sharks coach John Ausman.

Alvarez, with a 3.76 point average, is in the process of progressing to four-year colleges. Plans to major in business or aviation, and join the ROTC program prior to joining the service.

[adace-ad id="2627"]

“He’s one of the toughest guys I know,” Osman said, noting that Alvarez had fractured a rib in the league’s opener when he was a sophomore and played the remainder of the season. “It’s so painful; it’s up to the child. He never once complained and hated going to the coach about it.”

Alvarez offered to compete for Lewis and Clark in Oregon, but said his education was crucial.

Osman broke the news to Alvarez with screams across campus. Everyone applauded in hearing the prominent line man.

“I was so excited,” he said. “I wasn’t expecting it. It kind of overwhelmed me.”

Santa Cruz High has been chosen as the undoing of Qwentin Brown’s comeback above, and St. (Raul Ibio – Santa Cruz Sentinel)

Brown, who was named Offensive Player of the Year in the PCAL Task Force Division, had a weighted average of 4.2.

“Anything really helps, so I am proud to receive this scholarship,” Brown said. “There have been some hard times where you have to stay inside instead of going out, or a few times where I have to stay up to get my work done the next day, but you are a student athlete, with a student who comes first. You have to do things in the books before you touch field”.

[adace-ad id="2627"]

The Browns helped the Cardinals (9-1, 6-0) win the division title and posted the program’s first undefeated regular season since 1993. The Cardinals earned the No. 6 seed in the CCS D-II playoffs and lost 42-23 in the quarterfinals to No. 3 Wilcox, Final Division Champion.

Brown rushed over 1,400 yards and helped the Cardinals win the CCS DV title as a sophomore.

As a senior, Brown has scored 19 total touchdowns. He rushed 1,580 yards on 155 buggies and had eight grabs for 83 yards. He also played defense and scored 25 tackles, including four attempts for a loss of yards, and returned one interception 34 yards for a touchdown.

Brown plans to announce his college commitment on social media late Friday. Here’s a teaser: The university is known for its academic prowess.

“It’s a rare combination,” said Cardinals coach Bubba Trumbull. “He’s electrifying in the field and having the ability to do that in the classroom too is a great combination.”

The Lions Club will consider the possibility of holding a luncheon for scholarship winners in the province, pending COVID-19 restrictions.

Monte Vista Christian School quarterback Brendan Doyle and two-way line factor Nathaniel Fernandez won a scholarship for the 2020 season, which took place in the spring.

National Football Association Athletes Hall of Fame
Chapter Honors NorCal
boycott: Santa Cruz County
President: Ron Mihoron
A committee.: Scott Biddle, Bob Keitel, Ron Mihoron, Ron Myers
* Denotes scholarship recipients
Joshua Alvarez, St. Francis*
Matisse Barbier, Scotts Valley
Flavio Cornejo, Aptos
Alberto Gutierrez, Santa Cruz
Andrew Hendrickson, MVC
Michael Lange, SLV
Francisco Medina, Watsonville
Manuel Rodriguez, Pajaro Valley
Dillon Vienna, Sokoel
Quentin Brown, Santa Cruz*
Danny Carrillo, Harbor
Oswald Contreras, Pajaro Valley
Dylan Dejora, SLV
Nick Forbes, Aptos
Jordan Garibai, Saint Francis
Nolan Smith, Scotts Valley
Mark Spoon, MVC
Gavin Woods, Sockwell

[adace-ad id="2627"]


[adace-ad id="2627"]

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles